Skip to content

A Guide To MiDAS Training Courses

MiDAS is the Minibus Driver Awareness Scheme, organised by the Community Transport Association U.K. (CTA) which promotes a nationally recognised standard for the assessment and training of minibus drivers. It is a membership based scheme that has been designed to enhance minibus driving standards and promote the safer operation of minibuses.

Who is it aimed at?

MiDAS training is applicable to any organisation operating or using minibuses. Member organisations range from small voluntary organisations operating one vehicle, to local authorities operating large fleets of minibuses as well as schools, colleges and universities.

How does MiDAS work?

MiDAS operates on a “cascade” approach. CTA has appointed a number of training agents, who provide training for minibus Driver Assessor/Trainers (DAT’s) nominated from member organisations.

A DAT can then assess the competence of other minibus drivers, and provide them with training on how to safely use a minibus.

What’s involved in becoming a DAT?

In order to register as a DAT, a person has to undertake a thorough driving assessment (it is essential that they are able to drive to an “above average” standard) and participation in a course lasting three days for standard minibuses and a further day for wheelchair accessible minibuses.

What’s included in the DAT’s Training Course?

The course gives information and practical experience on how to undertake a minibus driving assessment in an objective and consistent manner, how to structure on-road assessments, provide “classroom based” safety training, and refresher training.The safety training, which can be delivered on a group or individual basis, uses key learning points from a number of areas:

Legal Responsibilities of a Minibus Driver Passenger Safety Child Passenger Safety Defensive Driving Manual Handling Awareness Health & Safety Awareness Accident & Emergency Procedures Personal Safety for Drivers

Each DAT is given a comprehensive trainer’s manual which includes all the information from the course, along with audio visual material needed to run the safety training sessions. DAT’s certificates are valid for two years after which refresher training will be required.

What do drivers get out of this?

Drivers who successfully complete the MiDAS assessment and training programme will receive a nationally recognised certificate valid for four years, as well as the option of obtaining the comprehensive “MiDAS Driver’s Handbook”.

This article was brought to you by CRH transport Training, a UK leader in transport training services, including LGV/HGV Training, PCV Training, MiDAS Training and more.

Posted in Uncategorized.

0 Responses

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.

You must be logged in to post a comment.